# International Symposium on Data Assimilation 2014

24-28 February 2014

Conference Location: Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany

The next International Symposium on Data Assimilation will be held at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich. symposium continues a series of well received events, including the German Symposium on Data Assimilation 2011 and the International Symposium on Data Assimilation 2012 at DWD in Offenbach. As in previous years, the symposium will include invited oral presentations by selected international experts, two extended poster sessions and extended periods for discussion. The symposium will be combined with a workshop on Cost Action ES1206 (GNSS Network) and a mini-workshop on KENDA/EPS.

## **Invited Speakers**

Dale Barker (MetOffice, UK) Mark Buehner (Env. Canada) Siebren de Haan (KNMI, Nederlands) Alan Geer (ECMWF) Marta Janiskova (ECMWF) Takamasa Miyoshi (RIKEN, Japan) Jason Otkin (University Wisconsin, US) Ed Pavelin (MetOffice, UK) David Tan (ECMWF) Montmerle Thibaut (CNRM, France) Fuging Zhang (Pennsylvania State University, US) and others

# SUPPORTED BY

JOIT ORILD DI		
45	CONSORTIUM FOR SMALL S	CALE MODELING
G	SM	

Program					
<u>Mon</u>	<u>Tue</u>	<u>Wed</u>	<u>Thu</u>	<u>Fri</u>	
Clouds and Precipitation I Use of satellite radiances in cloudy and precipitating situations	Convective Scale Data Assimilation I	Ensemble Methods in Data Assimilation Workshop Cost Action ES1206	Reanalysis  Workshop Cost Action ES1206	Workshop Cost Action ES1206 Kenda/EPS Mini Workshop	
Clouds and Precipitation II Assimilation of cloud information from satellite data	Convective Scale Data Assimilation II	Uncertainty in DA and Forecasting Workshop Cost Action ES1206	GPS/GNSS Delay Data in Data Assimilation Symposium Closure	Workshop Cost Action ES1206 Kenda/EPS Mini Workshop	
Ice Breaker and Poster Session I		Poster Session II			

**bold text = plenary sessions,** thin text = side workshops

### Scientific Steering Committee

Mark Buehner Anaelika Bunse-Gerstner Jonathan Jones Andrea Kaiser-Weiss Eugenia Kalnay Jan Keller Christina Koepken-Watts Daniel Leuenberger

Chiara Marsiali Takemasa Miyoshi Sebastian Reich Annika Schomburg Olaf Stiller Peter Jan van Leeuwen Jens Wickert Volker Wulfmeyer

#### Organizing Committee

Martin Weissmann Tijana Janjic-Pfander Andreas Rhodin Roland Potthast George C. Craig

#### Registration online at:

www.isda2014.physik.uni-muenchen.de Deadline for registration: 15. Jan. 2013

#### Local Contacts:

isda2014@phvisk.lmu.de Martin Weissmann Tijana Janjic-Pfander

Hans-Ertel-Zentrum für Wetterforschung **Deutscher Wetterdienst** 



**ORGANIZED BY** 









